FairyLoot Unboxing August 2017

Every month I am beyond excited to receive my FairyLoot box, however this time, it was different. I buy a FairyLoot box every month (I should probably just subscribe), and each time one is released, I think I buy it in record time. But I promise you, I have never bought one as quickly as I did this time around. As soon as the theme was released, Otherworlds, and I saw “for fans of A Court of Mist and Fury” I was done for. If you’ve ever seen my social media accounts or read one of my posts before, you’ll know that A Court of Thorns and Roses is my favourite book series. I manage to squeeze it in anywhere! So you can understand my excitement in receiving this box.

FairyLoot is a “fantasy focused monthly subscription box containing a Young Adult book and some hand selected bookish goodies” as described on their website. You can commit to six or twelve month subscriptions or if you’re fast enough, you can get your hands on their single purchase boxes! The August theme was “Otherworlds”.

FairyLoot1

The first item is this exclusive Witchsoul Candle by Book and Nook, which was themed around this month’s book and was created with the author. Each candle is based on a different character and five were sent out. I received Faisali which has scents of orange blossom, honey and musk.

The next item, which is probably my second most favourite out of them all, is the exclusive Fictional Worlds sleeping mask by Bookworm Boutique. It’s great quality, sits really well on the face without any pesky light coming through, is really comfortable but it also looks fab too!

FairyLootCandle

My most favourite item (as you could probably guess) is the handmade Velaris Pendant Necklace by Oh Panda Eyes. It features a quote from A Court of Mist and Fury about Velaris and looks stunning. I think I’ll be too scared to actually wear this for fear of breaking it, so I’m going to add it to my Sarah J. Maas bookshelves.

FairyLootNecklace

FairyLoot included a Westeros Inspired Tea Strainer, which looks so cute! Unfortunately I don’t drink much regular tea, never mind loose leaf tea, so I don’t think I’ll get much use out of it the way it was intended, but I’m sure I’ll find another use for it.

I loved the next item, and it features one of my oldest ships, it’s the exclusive Lord of the Rings Magnetic Bookmarks by Paperly and Co. Three pairs went out in the boxes: Legolas and Thranduil to represent Mirkwood, Samwise and Frodo for the Shire, and the one I received, Aragorn and Arwen to represent Gondor. I love these and can’t wait to use them.

Who doesn’t love stationery? Definitely not me! The exclusive Neverland Notebook by TJ Lubrano is beautiful. It’s hand painted (!) and features a lovely quote and illustration of Peter Pan himself. I’m a sucker for collecting notebooks, but I’m scared I’ll never write in this because it’s just too nice!

FairyLootNotebook

The final item an exclusive print of The Northern Lights by Melissa Nettleship. It looks magical and think it’ll definitely be a lovely piece of artwork to display for The Most Wonderful Time of the Year…

This month’s book is one that I’d heard a lot about on social media way before receiving this box. So much so that when the publisher offered to send me a copy, I jumped at the opportunity! Thus, me ending up with two copies which is unfortunate. The book was Wicked Like a Wildfire by Lana Popovic, which FairyLoot say has “witches, fiery females, romance and more” with “lyrical writing and lush descriptions”. It sounds awesome and I can’t wait to get stuck in. As usual, we were lucky enough to receive a signed bookplate and letter from the author too!

Just like every month, there were a couple of extras thrown in too, such as a Godsgrave and Blackwing sampler and a discount code for Mini Backdrop. Every month I’m blown away by the hard work that Anissa and Michael put in to their boxes, and while this month wasn’t my absolute favourite, I still loved it and teared through the box like a kid at Christmas. If you’re thinking about buying one, go ahead and do it! You won’t regret it – promise.

*Book depository affiliate links used. I get a small commission if you purchase through them, and you get free delivery!

Follow:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *